The Goodness of Strangers

It is a wonderful feeling when someone you don’t know has belief in you.

I was at the Job Centre today again, and rather than being frightened, I felt strangely calm today. Yes the place still smelled like weak disinfectant and old carpet, and there was a heavy sense of gloom in the air, but everyone seemed to have a smile on their face today, which put me at total ease.

The process today was a lot simpler than the previous time. All I had to do was go in and meet with two people and go through a simple interview.

The first section of the interview was easy, and I only had to fill in one additional form. The woman who was speaking with me was very pleasant and we chatted merrily about the upcoming Halloween Festival here in the city. My nerves were easing by the second.

The second section of the interview was even easier, as I just had to sit down and talk about myself to the interviewer. The lady I met with this time was equally as nice as the first one, and when I started talking about everything that I been doing in the past two years, she was all ears and seemed very impressed by it all! As I chatted, naturally she wrote down certain things and asked me questions, but when we had stopped talking, she asked me: “Have you ever thought about setting up your own business?”

ponder

This question threw me for a moment. I had been talking about developing educational comics for museums and other educational organisations, and she thought there was a real market for that sort of thing, and that I had the passion for it. She honestly believed that it was a good idea, even though I was saying things like “I wouldn’t know where to start,” and “I don’t know how to handle finance too well.”

We moved on from the subject of starting my own business and completed the interview process, however when it came to the end of the interview, she came back to the subject. I couldn’t believe that this woman, who I had only been talking to for about 45 minutes, had a real belief that I could start my own business. She gave me all the details to contact the Prince’s Trust, and even told me about the Business Training that they offer.

When it comes to job seeking, and the Job Centre, you have to show that you have made some progress since your last meeting, so before my next meeting, this woman is expecting me to at least get in contact with the Prince’s Trust, just to see if it is the thing for me! I honestly don’t know what to think.

Mann tippt auf Interface Start-Up

I am flattered that this woman has so much belief in me; however am I the type of person that could set up their own business? I’m not too sure. I think I’ll have to do a lot of thinking about that before I pick up the phone and call the Prince’s Trust.

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I would say that I had an inspiring, and surprising time at the Job Centre. There genuinely are some wonderful people out there that see the good in people!

Leave a Reply

