It’s the little things…

Being out of work always gives you a lot of time to think about things. For example, in the past few days I’ve been thinking about setting up my own business, and thinking about signing up to a creative writing course in the North West Regional College. I’ve also been thinking a lot about my CV and how the hell I’m going to get it up to date, without exceeding the 2/3 page limit, and I’ve been thinking about my previous jobs, and how much I miss them.

All in all, my brain is like a buzzing hive of bees at the moment.

over-active-creative-mind

Just when you think that you couldn’t possibly think about anything else, something comes up that makes you pause, and appreciate the little things in life.

I am currently sitting at the kitchen table in my Nana and Granda’s house. I am using my Granda’s laptop to write this very article. Yes, you heard me, my Granda’s laptop! The man is 80, and he is pretty dang good at using a laptop. Don’ ask him to browse the web for sites like Amazon, eBay or Youtube, but ask him to find you BT Sport and Sky Go and just watch him work. It’s inspiring.

Mature Caucasian man typing on laptop in home.

Anyway, back to my point. While I was working it seemed like I had very little time to ever go and see my grandparents. Now that I am out of a job, I am down with my Grandparents nearly every day. It’s wonderful to spend the time with them, and help them out around the house. They both have bad knees at the moment, so they are slowing down a bit. I’m trying to help them as much as I can, like cleaning the house, making the lunch and so on. It’s these little things, and spending the time with my Grandparents that I am really appreciating at the moment.

Sure I miss not having a job, but being with Nana and Granda makes me miss it all a little less. Being down here with them keeps me from thinking, and stressing about all those things that I mentioned earlier. I have them to think about now.

Then however, you get an email from someone asking you to do something for them, and you start to think about all of those stressful things again. I offered to help out once, and offered my services if they were ever stuck again; I can’t sit and do research for them at the drop of a hat, they do not employ me, and those were not the type of services I was offering.

Back to the little things, I do agree that when you have more time on your hands, you do tend to appreciate the little things in life more, whether it is a simple, relaxing walk during the day, or sitting having a cup of tea with your grandparents.

Leave a Reply

