Job Opportunity Rain Dance

You just never know what is going to come up do you? Job opportunities can sometimes be fleeting, or come in waves at random times. Often they are like a great drought, leaving people thirsty for anything that comes their way.

Thirsty work
At the moment I feel like I’m in a drought, but my rains dances seem to be having some effect! In the past couple of days I’ve heard whispers, rumours, of jobs that could potentially be coming up in the local area. Sometimes I think I just dreamt this, but I’ve heard that the new Siege Museum that the Apprentice Boys are developing will be announcing jobs in the coming weeks. Honestly, what could suit me better?

siege_mainUpon reading this news, ideas immediately sprung into my head about what I could potentially do for the Siege Museum, if I were to get a job. There are so many possibilities, and the history of the Siege of Derry in 1689 is just fascinating. It’s also a really gory piece of history, and if told right, will have the kids rapt with attention and giddy wonder. In my experience I’ve found that talking to kids about the gorier things in history, really gets their young blood pumping for more information. I remember when I was working in the Workhouse Museum (may its dormant halls be filled with ghosts) I loved talking to the school kids about the different living conditions within the Workhouse. Telling them that there was only one bucket between 100 people to use as a toilet in one dormitory always made them express their feelings of grossness!

One girl even asked me how they would clean the buckets every morning when they were taken out to the cesspit, and I thoroughly enjoyed telling the kids just how they would have cleaned the bucket! When the kids left, they all thanked me for the fun time they had. Talk about feeling big headed after that.

downtown-logo-wht
Another opportunity has just presented itself to me; actually it presented itself to my dad in a fleeting piece on the radio. As soon as dad heard about the opportunity he came straight home and told me all about it. Downtown Radio are apparently looking for people for their Foyle Studio, so I rang Downtown, got the email address I needed to contact and well…I have to go and meet them on November 26th! I’m not too sure if it’s an interview of sorts, but as long as I get to go down and tell people how passionate I am about the city in which I live, I’m happy. I’ve spoken on the radio before, as mentioned in a previous blog post of mine, so I’m nervous about meeting them, but not as nervous as normal. If it’s a position where I have to speak on the radio, great! If it’s a position where I would be behind the scenes, researching and what not, that’s great too.

My Advice

When in a job opportunity drought, do a rain dance, and hopefully something will come your way.

Leave a Reply

