Make ’em Laugh – Joker Style

This is a blog I’ve been looking to write for a while, and now that my head isn’t buried in application forms, I think I may just get on with writing it.

One of my favourite characters of all time is The Joker from Batman. There has always been something about The Clown Prince of Crime that has always stuck with me. Maybe beneath it all I’m a raging psychopath like he is, but that is probably very unlikely. From a young age I can remember watching The Joker in Batman: The Animated Series, the best cartoon of all time, hands now, no questions asked, end of story! I watched it all the time, and I think that is why this version of The Joker will always be my favourite, because I grew up with him. Don’t get me wrong I love the other versions of The Joker too, like Jack Nicholson’s Joker, Heath Ledger’s Dark Knight Joker, and the really sick twisted Joker in Death of the Family, but Mark Hamill’s Joker will always be my favourite.

The Joker 1

When rewatching some of the Batman: The Animated Series episodes now, as a fully grown woman, I am starting to appreciate not just the cartoon on a whole new level, but The Joker on a whole new level too. He is by far the funniest thing about the cartoon, and the way that he and Batman interact is just fantastic. Kevin Conroy is God when it comes to Batman, and I just think that he and Mark Hamill’s Joker work very well together.

The Joker 2

Batman: The Animated Series is definitely one of the most sophisticated and intelligent cartoon’s out there. It works on so many levels. You love it as a child because it’s full of action and adventure, and Gotham is always in peril. When Batman saves the day you feel elated and then go off and pretend to be Batman. You love it as an adult because it’s full of these one-liners that you definitely did not understand as a child. The Joker in particular had some of the best quote ever, and I do think that someone should make some mock motivational posters out of them!


Joker: I’m crazy enough to fight the Batman, but the IRS?? No thank you!

Joker: But hey, that’s the downside of comedy, you’re always taking shots from people who don’t get the joke. Like my dad, or Batman.

Joker: They sure don’t make straight jackets like they used too. I should know.

Joker: Jingle Bells! Batman smells! Robin laid an egg! The Batmobile lost a wheel and the Joker got awaaay!

Joker: (After sending Sid to his doom) Well, that was fun! Who’s for Chinese?

Joker: Live, from the city, the show that nobody wants to see but everybody will watch!

Joker: Ah, sunshine. Clean air. (Starts coughing) Oh, I hate it.

Joker: When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping!

Two-Face: Out of my face, clown!
The Joker: Which one?

Joker: Whoops! Looks like our air holes are water holes, too! Water shame!


These quotes are to name but a few! Some of them are cheesy, and some of them are just pure genius. No wonder The Joker is my favourite character ever. He’s just so much fun, in a sick, twisted, very evil way.

Leave a Reply

