Sunday Adventure – Oxford Island, Northern Ireland

Do you ever just wake up and think to yourself, “I really want to go exploring?” This was me when I woke up this morning.

It was really nice outside today and my inner adventurer thought that the day shouldn’t be wasted. All I would need to do to take advantage of the bright day would be to wrap up warm. We are expecting the “beast from the east,” after all.

The past week has been something of a challenge in work. We’ve just been very busy and so getting out into the open air just made sense to me. Before I’d even made it downstairs this morning, I knew I want to go to the Lough Neagh Discovery Centre. I drive past the exit to this place every day, and yet I’d never made that push to actually visit.

Husband agreed to the adventure and was really excited about it too. After such a hectic week I think we both just needed to escape. 

We decided, or actually I decided, that we would stop at Marks and Spencer’s to grab some sandwiches and other sweet treats. I knew that they had a great Made Without section, and so was able to get myself a yummy chicken and avocado sandwich (see my Instagram for more). I brought some cookies and crisps as well (all you need for a Sunday…sweet treats) and we headed off.

We observed a particular Northern Irish tradition, the “Car Picnic.” I know this is probably common in other parts of the UK but I feel that it is particularly Northern Irish as we do get an awful lot of rain, and today it was absolutely freezing!

The Lough Neagh Discovery Centre was really easy to find and once we got park we heading into the building. I don’t know what I was expecting when I got to the discovery centre, probably something similar to Exploris in Portaferry, but really it was just a nice gift shop and a café. Pretty much all you need.

Due to the cold we thought it would be nice to grab a coffee to the walk. The café wasn’t that busy with people but we still had a bit of a wait for the coffee. The people behind the counter just seemed to be in a fluster. Having to partially work in a café in my place of work, I know how hectic lots of orders can get, but as along as you have good management in place then you can blast through orders no problem. I feel that this was what the discovery centre café was lacking today, a bit of management. Husband got an Americano, and I got a latte that basically just a milky coffee. I know this is what a latte is, but latte’s have foam on top. This had no foam. 

Lough Neagh is beautiful. Period. No matter what area of it you go to. The area we were in today, Oxford Island, was lovely. It has so many birds! Husband and I really like birds and in particular I like ducks and robins. I think because so many people visit the area on a daily basis, the birds seem that little bit tamer. The robins definitely seemed that was as we got up really close to quite a few!

The walk was great, and the cold, fresh air really cleared my head. Husband and I were able to have a great chat about life in general and we’re hoping that the next thing for us might be buying some bikes! I really do like bike riding and would love to do it more often. As mentioned in previous posts, I have told myself that this year I’m going to do more of what I love and hopefully bike riding might be the next thing. Husband knows what to get me for my birthday now!

 

If you’re visiting Northern Ireland and you like to go on nature walks, but maybe don’t want one that is too strenuous (for whatever reasons) I would definitely recommend Oxford Island and the Lough Neigh Discovery Centre. It was pleasant, it was quiet, the birds were singing, squirrels were running through the trees and it was just a great place to escape it all.  

Where are the natural, maybe less well known, places you like to escape to? Comment below and don’t forget to follow 😀

Leave a comment